The blog of a Sci-Fi Geek

Fri 14 December , 07

It’s a bit of a beast – in a good way

Filed under: D3 — SFG @ 00:44

Nikon D3 Monster

Well, I’ve been playing with my Nikon D3 for a couple of days now and it’s a real pleasure to pick this camera up.
I’ve played around with ISO settings and focus metering and with the only lens that I have for it – which is only a DX format lens – I’m totally blown away by the quality of the images.

The camera itself is a behemoth of a thing (see image above as an illustration how big it is compared to my hand) but it’s fantastically comfortable to hold.

The layout of the buttons and the intuitive way that the menu system has been laid out all help make this camera a joy to use.
I think I’ve just about got it setup the way I want, but I’m getting another lens for it – one that will work with the full-frame sensor – so I’ll probably have to tinker with all the settings again when that arrives. It’s not something that I’m dreading (8+).

I have some images I’ve taken with it which I will post up tomorrow but I think I’m going to really enjoy using this camera for a long time to come.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

