The blog of a Sci-Fi Geek

Thu 20 December , 07

More on the Nikon D3

Filed under: D3 — SFG @ 13:31

I really haven’t had a lot of time to spend with the camera yet, despite having it for more than a week already.
I finish for Christmas tomorrow and I’ll have a week and-a-half off, so hopefully I’ll get to spend a little time with it then.

For now I have a couple of images and a few stats specific to my setup.
First the images …

Nikon D3 DX lens FFThis image is a DX lens taken using the full-frame sensor.
It illustrates perfectly just how DX lenses are not designed with full-frame cameras in mind.

(Image is clickable to get a bigger version)
The original .TIF image file size was 34.5 megs.

.

Nikon D3 / Nikon CoolPix 5700

This image illustrates just how big the Nikon D3 is compared to my previous camera – a Nikon CoolPix 5700.

(This image is also clickable)

I got a SanDisk Extreme IV 8GB Compact Flash card with the camera and just out of idle curiosoty I decided how many images I could get on the card using various image sizes.
I’ve reproduced the numbers below.
JPEG basic ~4,300
JPEG normal ~2,100
JPEG fine ~ 1,100
RAW 310
TIFF 214

Being a person that normally shoots TIFF I can really appreciate having dual CF card slots on the D3.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

